UND School of Graduate Studies Blog

Happenings at The School of Graduate Studies at the University of North Dakota

McNair scholars flood Lake Lawn with Grad School questions

leave a comment »

During my final trip this travel season, I had the opportunity to host a table at the 18th Annual National McNair Research Conference and Graduate Fair. The fair was held at the beautiful Lake Lawn Resort, in Delevan, Wisconsin. This was my first time to a McNair conference and I wasn’t sure what to expect. More than 50 graduate schools from across the nation were represented, which told me this was going to be a grand event. I was also told McNair students have a reputation for being highly focused and research minded, so I packed my bags full of information folders and prepared for the fair. Well, I should have packed more folders.

Students started pouring in well before the fair officially began, the sound level built, the room heated up, and before you can say “grad school”, the fair was underway. Most of the students who came to the table had already researched our programs and The Graduate School. They really just wanted to talk to someone from Grand Forks, confirm admission requirements, and ask about research opportunities at UND. I was humbled by their level of dedication to their education. Within two hours, of the three hour fair, I had run out of information folders and began handing out my business cards. No one seemed to mind, in fact, they seemed pleasantly relieved that our information is online. After all, they were carrying around armloads of brochures from other tables.

Their smiles broadened greatly when I told them of our application fee waiver for McNair students and the possibility of a tuition waiver. They were obviously impressed with UND and very appreciative of any support they were offered. In turn, I felt proud to be from UND. Thank you to everyone who participated in the event, it was a pleasure to meet all of you; I hope to be back next year. (Matt Anderson)

During my final trip this travel season, I had the opportunity to host a table at the 18th Annual National McNair Research Conference and Graduate Fair. The fair was held at the beautiful Lake Lawn Resort, in Delevan, Wisconsin. This was my first time to a McNair conference and I wasn’t sure what to expect. More than 50 graduate schools from across the nation were represented, which told me this was going to be a grand event. I was also told McNair students have a reputation for being highly focused and research minded, so I packed my bags full of information folders and prepared for the fair. Well, I should have packed more folders.

Students started pouring in well before the fair officially began, the sound level built, the room heated up, and before you can say “grad school”, the fair was underway. Most of the students who came to the table had already researched our programs and The Graduate School. They really just wanted to talk to someone from Grand Forks, confirm admission requirements, and ask about research opportunity at UND. I was humbled by their level of dedication to their education. Within two hours, of the three hour fair, I had run out of information folders and began handing out my business cards. No one seemed to mind, in fact, they seemed pleasantly relieved that our information is online. After all, they were carrying around armloads of brochures from other tables.

Their smiles broadened greatly when I told them of our application fee waiver for McNair students and the possibility of a tuition waiver. They were obviously impressed with UND and very appreciative of any support they were offered. In turn, I felt proud to be from UND. Thank you to everyone who participated in the event, it was a pleasure to meet all of you; I hope to be back next year.

Written by School of Graduate Studies

December 2, 2009 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

