UND School of Graduate Studies Blog

Happenings at The School of Graduate Studies at the University of North Dakota

The College of St. Scholastica in Duluth – A Great Place to Kick Off the Spring Travel Season

leave a comment »

I felt a bit like a hibernated animal, staring out and longing to get out again, out on the road. My last recruitment visit was to Salt Lake City, more than three months ago. And with our snow melting and our days longer, I was excited to get back on the road.

My first visit for Spring recruiting was to the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth, Minnesota. It’s a great city, settled on the slopes above Lake Superior. And the College, well, the College is as beautiful as any campus I’ve been to.

Tower Hall on the campus of the College of St. Scholastica

Together with the McNair program and Student Support Services, I coordinated some times to meet, one-on-one, with some fantastic students. We talked about The Graduate School‘s support of McNair Scholars, our Social Work, Nursing, Biochemistry and Education programs, and about making the decision to explore graduate education. The students I met were enthusiastic and apprehensive: the exact right combination when considering graduate education.

Evan with students

That's me with some of the students I met

The meetings were everything I needed to kick of the Spring recruitment season. I had nice conversations with students, letting them know what to expect and encouraging them to explore the opportunities The Graduate School offers. And it sure felt nice to shake out of the winter slumber. So, thank you to the fine people of the College of St. Scholastica!

If you would like me, or someone else from our office, to visit your campus, send me an email, at evannelson(at)mail.und.edu.

Written by School of Graduate Studies

March 16, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Posted in Evan Nelson, recruitment

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

