UND School of Graduate Studies Blog

Happenings at The School of Graduate Studies at the University of North Dakota

Perfect weather for Undergraduate Research

leave a comment »

I just got back from the 24th National Conference on Undergraduate Research (NCUR) at The University of Montana in Missoula. The NCUR conference featured scholars and presenters from all over the world, from a variety institutions and academic areas. The conference gives undergraduate students a chance to showcase their research projects, meet with other students and faculty, and talk with graduate school representatives. It was exciting to be among such a diverse group of people. I talked with students from all over the United States, and even with students from as far away as the U.K. and Sri Lanka.

This was my second time visiting Missoula. Some of you may remember that I experienced the year’s first snowstorm when I was in Missoula last Fall. Some of you even blamed me for bringing the snow back with me. Well, this time the only snow I saw was high up in the surrounding mountains. The campus was as beautiful as ever and the weather was perfect.

Poster Session at the NCUR

Poster Session at the NCUR

I’d like to thank the organizers of the NCUR campus events. The poster sessions took place in the center of two divided gymnasiums, and the recruitment tables circled around both rooms. This arrangement allowed students to present their work and visit with a variety of schools as the sessions cycled.  It was such a great opportunity to be able to listen to students talk extensively about their work and then, in turn, being able to talk with them about the programs at UND. In particular, I talked with several students interested in our Biology, Biochemistry, Counseling, Psychology, Art, and Music programs.

Thank you NCUR and the University of Montana Missoula for giving me the opportunity to talk with so many bright students, and thank you to all of the students whom I talked with. I’m looking forward to the next NCUR conference. And maybe the next time I’m in Missoula I’ll challenge myself to walk up to the M.

Side note:

I fully intended to continue the quest to find the world’s greatest burger, but after a full day of recruiting my hotel room was calling my name. Fortunately, there was ample opportunity to discover culinary delights in San Francisco at the NAGAP conference.

Matt Anderson, Recruiter

Written by School of Graduate Studies

April 26, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Posted in Matt Anderson, recruitment

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

