UND School of Graduate Studies Blog

Happenings at The School of Graduate Studies at the University of North Dakota

Mike shares his “freshman recruiter” experiences

with one comment

Hello from the road.

As David Konerza mentioned in his last blog, recruitment season for The Graduate School is indeed in full swing. Since the McNair Heartland Research Conference in Kansas City, Missouri my travels have taken me to Indiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, and Michigan.

Throughout my visits to Purdue, The College of St. Scholastica, Bemidji State, Winona State, St. John’s, Creighton, Michigan State, and the University of Michigan, I have chatted with lots of interested students. Ranging from freshman to seniors, all of them seem to have explored the graduate programs that UND offers before they approached me, and that lead to well thought-out questions, most of which revolved around the all of the research opportunities available at UND. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the conversations I have had with all of the students and appreciate their enthusiasm in seeking graduate education.

As far as traveling itself goes, I have to say that driving through Minnesota has been the best so far. The colors of the changing leaves make the many miles covered enjoyable. This is definitely true of the trees covering the bluffs near Winona. Although the changing foliage was quite the spectacle, the best view I’ve had goes to Lake Superior in Duluth. After my visit to The College of St. Scholastica, I trekked to the top of Enger Tower. From here I could see an amazing view of the city and harbor.

Check back soon to learn more about our recruitment travels. Next week I will be traveling to Utah and will be sure to have more to share!

Mike Hinschberger, Graduate Recruitment Associate

View from Enger Tower

Written by School of Graduate Studies

October 18, 2011 at 10:34 am

Posted in recruitment

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mike, I hope you take some photos in Utah, too!

    Graduate School

    October 18, 2011 at 10:36 am


Leave a Reply

